Craftsmanship Awards

Celebrating Quality Craftsmanship

The WBC Annual Craftsmanship Awards Banquet was held at the Washington Hilton Hotel on April 5, 2024. During the opening remarks, Greg Koger, Chairman of the Board, welcomed the more than 960 commercial real estate industry professionals, spouses and friends in attendance.

More than 14,400 men and women have been individually honored over the past 68 years for their work on 3,600+ Craftsmanship Award winning entries.

To kick off the evening, two new Craftsman Hall of Fame members, James Natali and Willie Urquilla were inducted. Each year up to 5 craftsmen may be nominated by the Craftsmanship Awards Committee to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Established in 2008, the Hall of Fame currently features 50 exceptional men and women in our industry.

This year 246 nominations were received in ten trade categories from sitework to finishes. Each entry was evaluated in January by a team made up of individuals with a wide range of industry experience. The judges represented a broad cross-section of the construction industry, including architects, interior designers, general contractors, subcontractors, construction consultants, and engineers. All evaluations were compiled, results tallied, and 83 winning entries were identified based upon the judge’s scoring.

Following selection of the award winners, a separate group of Star Awards judges representing different industry perspectives and disciplines evaluated the Star nominees. Star Award winning craftsmen encompass the key characteristics of all Craftsmanship Award winners and exhibit the highest level of focus on excellence. This year, eight remarkable entries were selected as Star Award nominees for demonstrating the highest level of quality and exceeding the awards criteria. From these, the Star Award winners for Visual Excellence, Technical Excellence and Excellence in the Face of Adversity were selected.

The Star Award for Excellence in the Face of Adversity was presented to Joe Alonso, Sean Callahan and Andy Uhl with Washington National Cathedral for Exterior Stone at National Cathedral Earthquake Repairs – 12 Year Anniversary project.

The Star Award for Technical Excellence was awarded to the team of Scott Horstkamp, Christopher Lacasse, Jerry Lackovitch, James Mayo Kelly Pickle and Ronald Smith with Shapiro and Duncan for HVAC-Piping at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital project.

Finally, the Star Award for Visual Excellence was presented to Orlando Callejas, Eun Young Lee, Elenilson Lopez, Jackson Lynn, Sprigg Lynn and Stephen Pollehn with Universal Floors for Flooring at the Chevron Wood Floor Historic Reproduction project.

Event pictures and videos are now available online.

Hall of Fame Inductees Video

Star Awards Nominees Video 1
Project: Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Gardens Facade Repair
Concrete: Precast Concrete

Project: Chevron Wood Floor Historic Reproduction
Finishes: Flooring
Star Awards for Visual Excellence

Project: Metropolitan Park
Mechanical: HVAC-Sheet Metal

Star Awards Nominees Video 2
Project: Sycamore and Oak Retail Pavilion
Special Construction: Mass Timber

Project: MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
Mechanical: HVAC-HVAC-Controls & Instrumentation

Project: National Cathedral Earthquake Repairs (12 Year Anniversary)
Masonry: Exterior Stone
Star Awards Winner for Excellence in the Face of Adversity

Star Awards Nominees Video 3
Project: The Embassy of Australia
Doors & Windows: Exterior Glass

Project: MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
Mechanical: HVAC-Piping
Star Awards Winner for Technical Excellence

2024 Awards Photo Gallery