Washington, DC – The WBC Craftsmanship Awards Committee concluded the 60th Annual WBC Craftsmanship Awards program on March 18, 2016, with the annual awards banquet.  In the opening remarks, WBC 78th Chairman of the Board John Barron welcomed the more than 1,100 commercial construction industry professionals and guests in attendance.

This year, 288 Craftsmanship entries were received and 84 were selected as winners by teams of impartial judges.  Eight outstanding entries were recommended to be considered for the three Star Awards.

The Star Award for Excellence in the Face of Adversity was presented to Josh Craig, Ronnie McFee, Joe McNaughton, Sammy Rojas, Bill Smith, Mikolaj Zak with AlphaSteel/SteelFab, Inc. for their Structural Steel Framing work at the National Museum of African American History and Culture.

The Star Award for Technical Excellence was awarded to the team of Chris Brown, Amado Cortez, Mike Dickerson, John McCarthy, Vern Quesenberry, Tim Ruff with Ruff Roofers, Inc. for their outstanding Thermal and Moisture Protection work at the Gunston Hall Mansion Roof Replacement.

Jeff Benac, John Burroughs, Carrol Gayle, David Holmes, John Yeatts with AOC Construction Division were honored with the Visual Excellence Star Award for their Plumbing work at the Thomas Jefferson Building Sprinkler System, West Main Pavilion.

This year three deserving craftsmen were inducted into the Craftsman Hall of Fame.    They are Scott Pashkevich, Wayne Radke and Edeline (Ed) Bush Rhodes, III.  There are now 33 members of the Hall of Fame that was established in 2008.

The Star Awards Nominees and Hall of Fame Inductees videos are now available online.

Click here to see event images and project photos.