The WBC Craftsmanship Awards Committee has just finished with the 62ndAnnual WBC Craftsmanship Awards Program on March 16, 2018.  Congratulations to all winners!   Awards Banquet and Project Images are available online.

This year, WBC received a remarkable 255 nominations in 10 trade categories from sitework to finishes. With the outstanding support of 165 volunteer judges, 37 teams of evaluators went out in early January to evaluate all of the nominated work. The evaluations were compiled, results tallied, and 84 winning entries were identified based upon the judges score.

Following the selection of the award winners, a separate panel of Star Award judges representing different perspectives and disciplines within our industry was selected to independently evaluate the Star Award nominees. Eight outstanding entries were recommended for this distinction for demonstrating the highest level of quality and exceeding the awards criteria to achieve a level defined as “Exceptional.”  From these, the Star Award winners for Excellence in the Face of Adversity, Technical Excellence and Visual Excellence were selected.

This year, the Star Award for Excellence in the Face of Adversity was presented to Matt Baublitz, Jon Borys, Thomas Boschert, Chris Hayden, David Pecora, Chris Windsor with Diversified for their work on the U.S. Capitol, House of Representatives Chamber Sound System Upgrade.

The Star Award for Technical Excellence was awarded to the team of Pedro Fuentes, Thaddeus Gerald, Daniel Miranda, James Michael Thornhill, Antonio Vasquez, Dionision Vasquez with Sunbelt Rentals Scaffold Services for their outstanding Scaffolding and Rigging work at the Duke Ellington School of the Arts Modernization. 

Dave Aguilar, Joe Batista, Ron Jones, Jeremy King, Bobby Rivers, Chris Singh with Tate Ornamental were honored with the Visual Excellence Star Award for their Ornamental Metal work at the Museum of the Bible. 

Also, continuing a tradition started eight years ago, two individuals where inducted in the Craftsman Hall of Fame Bruce Baldwin and the first woman Anna Torre-Smith. Selection of the Hall of Fame inductees is based on the number of awards an individual has received, the individual’s time in the building industry, and other special factors that may be relevant.

Star Awards Nominees and Craftsman Hall of Fame Videos

This is truly an exceptional program providing our industry the unique opportunity to personally recognize the contributions of the craftsmen in our region. Thank you for your ongoing support and participation. Best regards,

Todd Scales
2018 Craftsmanship Chairman
Manhattan Construction Company